Member Societies Home > Introduction > Member Societies
Sri Lanka College of Radiologists
< Introduction of member society >
Name of society Sri Lanka College of Radiologists Home page
Fax + 94 112 698142
Founded year 1980 Number of members 250
Brief Introduction :
The College of Radiologists was established in January 1980. It was renamed Sri Lanka College of Radiologists in the latter part of 2004, to meet the requirements of the constitutional changes that took place during that period.
Thus the Sri Lanka College of Radiologists has been representing both disciplines of Clinical Radiology and Radiation Oncology with the main objective being the training of competent Radiologists, Radiotherapists working closely with the Post Graduate Institute of Medicine, in order to meet the demands in the country.
Since its inception , the College, in conjunction with the Postgraduate Institute of Medicine, University of Colombo, has produced, large number of Clinical Radiologists and Clinical Oncologists. The membership of the College now (March 2010) stands at 250, about 125 life members and the rest are associate members, who are mainly trainees in radiology.
[Soft Break]Currently the Sri Lanka College of Radiologists remains the only Body, supervising and managing the professional standards of the Radiologists practicing in Sri Lanka, holding Academic activities locally and facilitating and encouraging members to participate in the Academic activities overseas. The founder president was Dr SNB Thalwatte.(MBBS.DMRD.FRCR) and he was the Radiologists in-charge of the Dept of Radiology, The National Hospital of Sri Lanka (Then General Hospital, Colombo) from 1980 to 1990. This is the main and the biggest training center for Radiology even at present. Since then there were 16 presidents and the present one is Dr. U C Samarasinghe (MBBS.MD).
The present council consists of
Dr S H Munasingha (Vice President)
Dr. Prasad De Silva(Secretary)
Dr. T Rajapaksha ( Immediate Past President)
Dr.M U J Fernando (Treasurer)
Dr Y A P De Silva (Asst Treasurer)
Dr. I. N. A. Gooneratne (Editor)
Dr.P B Hewawitharana (Editor)
Dr. W.A. Epa (Ass.Secretary-Academic)
Dr I.D.U.K.Wanigasiri (Ass.Secretary-Social)
Council Members
Dr. P Hettiarachchi
Dr. P E S Waas
Dr S Gorakgahagoda
Dr.M D S Perera
Dr.U P Rathnayaka
The college takes the initiative to organize and conduct academic and social activities in the field of radiology in Sri Lanka. Mainly the annual academic sessions, monthly clinical gathering/meetings, CME programs and participation in the activities organized by other clinical colleges of Sri Lanka as well as in SAARC, European and asio-oceanic colleges in radiology.
Some of our members currently are members of European society of Radiology SAARC radiology etc.